i’m over you…

i’m over you.
yes, i’ve finally moved on.
i did not get affected
just by the sight of you.
i’m already immune
to your mere presence.
your arms at the back
of my chair no longer
sent tingles down my spine.
your touch did not make me
shiver way deep down inside.
your voice saying my name
was unable to work
its magic on me anymore.

i’m over you.
yes, i’ve moved on.
i did not curl on my side,
tossing and turning
until the dawn made way to the sun,
shining on the waking horizon.
i did not think how much
i wanted to be pulled
into your arms and held there,
to stay forever there.
i did not lie awake
at all hours wondering
what it would have been like
to have your lips
seal my own – just the
lightest brush of a kiss,
so i won’t have to think
of what ifs anymore.

i’m over you.
yes, i’ve moved on
from acknowledging what i feel
to burying them in the dark
corners of my heart,
where they utter silent cries
of longing and despair.
yes, i’m over you.
at least, that’s what i tell myself
before i try to go to sleep at night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

