i’ll continue to love you…

if i had known that you’d take back
all the beautiful things you’ve ever
said and promised,
i would have guarded my heart better.
i wouldn’t have given you my complete trust.
as it is, you now have a place in my soul
and you have broken the faith
i resolutely placed in your hands.
still, i could never ask you to untake
everything you’ve ever told me.
i will never regret the way i felt
when you held my hands.
i will continue loving you
until i have gotten over your dropping me
irrevocably out of your life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

