when i woke up…

today, i woke up trembling.
there is a pain in my heart
that just wouldn’t cease.
it’s choking me,
bringing tears to my eyes.

today, i woke up to the reality
that there’s nowhere for me to go.
i am confined in the four walls
of this unwitting prison that can
literally siphon the life out of me.

today, i woke up to the consequence
of a decision i thought was good for me.
but, if i was really trying to keep
my sanity by leaving,
then i shouldn’t have been this anguished.

today, i woke up to the realization
that i’d rather have suffered,
as long as i was with the people
i cared about every day.
but, then again, it is already too late.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

