Realizations…

I look at the mound of pills on my palm.
I imagine them slide down my parched throat,
Before mingling into my system, already infused
with many of its kind as it can hold.
And, I realize that while they can
stop my heart from beating,
they could never right what is wrong within me.
They could not ease the darkness eating away at my soul.
They will neither set my paths straight for me
nor lead me to the journeys I have been dying to take.
Yes, these pills will stop the breath
that billows from my nostrils,
but they do not have the power to take away
the dreams I have sheltered for so long.

 

Leave a Reply

