Ending My Week with Cream Pie

at the start of my work week,
tears were shed.
then, came the cream pies –
but, they did not stop my cries.
instead, they multiplied my woes
and made me want to lash out
the hurt i was feeling inside.

If you think this post about cream pie is all about making or eating one, then you are wrong. Based on the poem above, this post is mostly going to be a rant against cream pies or about something directly related to them. But, since I love pies, especially strawberry cream pie, you might find a recipe of my favorite pie below. Before we go to that though, let me tell you about my horrible cream pie experience this week.

My Cream Pie Experience

I manage and edit the blogs of a well-known talent resource site in the US. Because these blogs are directly related to entertainment, my team and I prefer to produce entertainment-related posts for them. However, the owner of the company has a different idea about what works for his site.

He believes that just because desserts and animals are trending online, these would also be great for our main blog. So, instead of focusing on articles that will cater more to our kind of audience, he is asking us to churn out posts about amazing animals and delectable desserts.

It’s not that we do not love animals or sweet treats. We do. They just do not have any connection to the market we are supposed to be writing for. And, the first dessert article the owner asked us to produce is about cream pies. He asked us to be done with it in ten minutes and to place tons of photos of different types of pies in there, as well as videos.  He told us not to bother about writing a quality article and to just copy paste some popular recipes on it.

We did. But, as the editor (who was also responsible for placing the videos), I kind of f*cked up with the videos and embedded one of someone slapping fishes into a pie dish and labeling it as “how to make a cream pie”. As expected, it was noticed by the owner the next day and almost placed our heads on the chopping block. Well, just almost, because amazingly he was in a good mood that day and did not shout our heads off for the mistake. So, all’s well that ends well, right?

My Favorite Cream Pie

Now, let’s move on to my favorite cream pie. After my cream pie experience, I swore that I will stay away from cream pies forever. But, as a food lover, I could not just do it. So, below is a strawberry cream pie recipe from TasteofHome.com that I would love to make as soon as I get my own baking equipment.

Strawberry Cream Pie Recipe

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 35 min. + chilling Cook: 10 min. + cooling
MAKES: 6-8 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 pastry shell (9 inches), baked 
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds, optional
  • FILLING:
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, optional
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • GLAZE:
  • 1/2 cup crushed strawberries
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 3 cups fresh strawberries, halved
  • Whipped cream, optional

Directions

  1. Cover bottom of pie shell with nuts if desired; set aside. In a large saucepan, combine the sugar, cornstarch, flour and salt; gradually stir in milk. Cook and stir over medium-high heat until thickened and bubbly. Reduce heat; cook and stir 2 minutes more. Remove from the heat and stir a small amount into egg; return all to the saucepan. Cook and stir until almost bubbly. Reduce heat; cook and stir 1-2 minutes more (do not boil). Remove from the heat; stir in vanilla and almond extract if desired. Cool to room temperature. Whip cream; fold into filling. Pour into pie shell. Chill for at least 2 hours.
  2. About 2 hours before serving, prepare glaze. Combine crushed strawberries and water in a large saucepan; cook for 2 minutes. Combine sugar and cornstarch; gradually stir into the berries. Cook until thick and clear, stirring constantly. Strain. Cool for 20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, arrange berry halves over filling; pour glaze evenly over berries. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Garnish with whipped cream if desired. Yield: 6-8 servings.

There you go. I ended my rant with a positive note, a yummy cream pie that’s perfect for the summer. Now, if only I have a bakery oven, I would be making this sumptuous dessert pronto.

 

Leave a Reply

