i need only you

Heartbreak

Photo Source:
huffingtonpost.com

in the morning when i wake
from a fitful sleep where
i tossed and turned,
i hear my heart break.
i sense its shards pierce
the innermost recesses
of my soul that only longs
for a love to keep me whole.

when i open my tear-filled eyes
that have spent a night
in misery and despair,
i see my world turn to ice.
i feel its coldness envelop
the very core of my being
that misses your warmth
with a pain so deep and reeling.

there is no other respite,
no other cure – but the very
sight of you, the very
presence of you – right beside
me – holding me close,
keeping me near, kissing my
cheeks stained with tears.
there is only you i need.

 

Leave a Reply

